HAPPY MEMORY

‘What will my parents do for my birthday’ I thought as I went to bed on June 6th, 2018. So I wake up on my birthday and I am like “time for school” so I pack my lunch and I’m in the car.

Dad says, “let’s go get some breakfast”, but McDonald’s is remodeling. So we go to each town more south like Brunswick, Freeport, little did we know all Mcdonald’s where closed for remodeling. Eventually, we found a McDonald’s that was open, 21 miles away, in Yarmouth, I finally got to eat my McGriddle, I was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO hungry!!!!!!!!

By now I was freaking out, I thought I was gonna be late for school. Then my dad gets on the highway, but not on northbound to go back to school, dad went southbound. Then my mom said, “where is a place you have been wanting to go?” “I don’t know.” I said, “Ben & Jerry’s you fool, we are going to Vermont.” “What, NO, I HAVE TO GO TO SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!!!”

Three Minutes Later…  “Are we really?” I said “YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” My Parents said. Then I thought about it and I was like “YAY, NO SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

It took a 4 hour and 21 minute drive and we finally made it to Ben & Jerry’s. The parking lot was almost full, and most of the license plates were definitely not from Vermont, because Vermont is the second least populous state behind Wyoming so I’m like “I am in a state that has fewer people than Baltimore, reeeeee” We had to go up what seemed like 20,000,000,000 stairs to get to the factory. There was a tour that we wanted to go on, but as soon as we got in there, a tour had already started, so we had to wait, so we looked in the gift shop.

10 minutes later we are on the tour, we went over where the ice cream is made and the workers had white suits on and I thought we were in a radioactive place.

We got to try free samples, I forgot what flavor it was. Then we went to the flavor graveyard, the flavor graveyard is a graveyard for retired flavors with headstones and all. Next, we went back to the gift shop and bought a magnet, a tie-dyed t-shirt, some travel mugs, and some small things. Now it was time to eat my lunch, ICE CREAM! I got half baked ice cream, it has vanilla and chocolate ice cream as well as cookie dough and fudge brownie chunks, mmmm, SO GOOD! We sat at a picnic table and ate our ice cream, after we ate it was time to go home, we took the scenic route home. It was a long but fun day.

5 thoughts on “HAPPY MEMORY”

  1. I love that surprise birthday trip!! Did you know that I was born and raised in Vermont? The Ben & Jerry’s factory is a great place to visit!

  2. I have visited the Ben & Jerry’s factory too! It is so interesting to see the process they use to make the ice cream and create new flavors!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *